Australian Journal of Labour Economics

The Centre for Labour Market Research (CLMR) holds copyright and publishes the Australian Journal of Labour Economics. This is the official Journal of the Australian Society of Labour Economists.

The Australian Journal of Labour Economics (AJLE) is a forum for the analysis of labour economics and labour relations. It is particularly focused on theoretical and policy developments in respect of Australian labour markets. Interdisciplinary approaches are encouraged.

The AJLE invites submissions of articles in the following areas in labour economics, industrial relations and personnel economics. The following areas are of particular interest:

  • Time allocation, work behaviour and employment determination
  • Wages, compensation and labour costs
  • Labour-management relations, trade unions and collective bargaining
  • Work organisation and the sociology of work
  • Productivity
  • Income and wealth distribution
  • Mobility, unemployment, labour force participation and vacancies
  • Gender, ethnicity, labour market segmentation and discrimination
  • Population and demography in respect of the labour market

While contributors to the AJLE are expected to demonstrate theoretical or empirical originality – and preferably both – they should make their work accessible to readers from a non-technical background. Survey articles are also encouraged. Further, as a means of strengthening the integration of theory and practice the AJLE welcomes reflective contributions from practitioners. The AJLE recognises that the areas of labour economics and labour relations are subject to controversy and aims to provide an arena for debate.

The CLMR is administered through the University of Canberra and the Australian Journal of Labour Economics is administered by the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre, Curtin University.

2019 Editorial Information

Managing Editor

Phil Lewis, University of Canberra


Anne Daly, University of Canberra
Michael Dockery, Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre
Alan Duncan, Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre
Boyd Hunter, Australian National University
Sholeh Maani, The University of Auckland

Editorial Assistant and Subscriptions Manager

Kumeshini Haripersad, Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre

Editorial Board

Alison Booth, ANU and Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), London
Bruce Bradbury, The University of New South Wales
Lisa Cameron, Monash University
Terence Cheng, University of Adelaide
Gigi Foster, University of New South Wales
Raja Junankar, University of New South Wales
Guyonne Kalb, University of Melbourne, Melbourne Institute
Karen Mumford, University of York
Margaret Nowak, Curtin University
David Peetz, Griffith University
Jacques Poot, University of Waikato
Elizabeth Savage, University of Technology, Sydney
Stefanie Schurer, University of Sydney
Peter Siminski, University of Wollongong
Peter Sloane, Emeritus Professor, Swansea University
Christopher Worswick, Carleton University
Mark Wooden, The University of Melbourne
John Ham, University of Singapore
Stefanie Schurer, University of Sydney